Official installer vs homebrew install for python

A forum for general discussion of the Python programming language.

Official installer vs homebrew install for python

Postby sc25893 » Tue Aug 20, 2013 6:54 pm

Hi,

I've been working with python for a couple of months now so still on pretty basic stuff. I installed python (2.7.5 and 3.3.2) via the official channel here:

http://www.python.org/getit/

...and I have been using them to code some stuff in Eclipse (I installed pydev). I've now been reading about virtualenv, pip etc here (using homebrew package manager to install):

https://pypi.python.org/pypi/virtualenv

...and another post here with a heading of 'Doing it right' when it comes to installing python:

http://docs.python-guide.org/en/latest/ ... l/osx.html

Although I'm new to this, I am very interested in trying out Django in the future, so I came across this:

http://www.jeffknupp.com/blog/2012/02/0 ... right-way/

...which also talks of virtualenv & pip. There is also 'python install' and 'python framework install'. It's all a bit overwhelming and I can't find a decent resource that talks of what the actual difference is between the official installer and a homebrew one.

I can appreciate the idea of a virtual environment as a closed container as to not interfere with other projects (like I do with gemsets in ruby version manager to use specific versions of ruby gems per project).

However, I'm just a bit confused about all the terminology and what actual methods people use to get projects up and running. If anyone could clear some of this stuff up it would be very helpful or maybe suggest some better learning resources. Perhaps this post is a bit rambling but it represents what's going on in my head right now as I approach getting python up and running in a way other than the official installer.