installing python, eclipse/pydev and beautifulsoup

A forum for general discussion of the Python programming language.

installing python, eclipse/pydev and beautifulsoup

Postby igeek » Sat Mar 09, 2013 8:52 pm

hello,

I'm having a really have time getting the beautifulsoup module to work with python 2.7.3 in eclipse/pydev

I'm new to python so I'm not sure if this could be an installation error on my part..
maybe I dont have eclipse and pydev setup correctly?? I can upload a screenshot of my eclipse setup if that would help. thx!!

any advise would really be appreciated I've been spinning my wheels on this for a day now!!
igeek

Re: installing python, eclipse/pydev and beautifulsoup

Postby metulburr » Sat Mar 09, 2013 10:51 pm

beautifulsoup has no reliance on an IDE (eclipse)

did you donwload it from here?
What OS are you on?

1) download
2) extract
3) go into directory extracted
4) execute code
Code: Select all
python setup.py install

(depending on OS code may be different)
5) if installation successful, test it in python interpreter
>>>from bs4 import BeautifulSoup
>>>

if you get >>>, then it works
New Users, Read This
OS Ubuntu 14.04, Arch Linux, Gentoo, Windows 7/8
https://github.com/metulburr
steam
metulburr

Postby igeek » Sun Mar 10, 2013 10:40 pm

Thanks for the help!

I'm using a Mac with Snow leopard OS 10.6.7 and yes that's where I downloaded BeautifulSoup from.

I got BeautifulSoup working with Python version 2.7.3.. thanks for the tip to use the python
shell to verify the installation that really helped!

I was trying to use easy install before but it wouldn't work for some reason.
easy_install

I'm still getting an error with python 3.3 though.. any thoughts?
igeek

Postby micseydel » Sun Mar 10, 2013 10:51 pm

"getting an error" is never enough information. If it's a Python traceback, post the full traceback verbatim in code tags, and otherwise post whatever the full error is.
Join the #python-forum IRC channel on irc.freenode.net!