Problem with help command?

This is the place for queries that don't fit in any of the other categories.

Problem with help command?

Postby topcat5665 » Sun Aug 25, 2013 2:19 pm

When I try to enter "help(sys)" for example, I just get the error "'more' is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file.". Could I have some help on this? Just starting Python and these errors are not helping me :lol:

Thanks for any help you can give me.

- Topcat
topcat5665
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2013 2:15 pm

Re: Problem with help command?

Postby metulburr » Sun Aug 25, 2013 3:50 pm

well first of all you have to import the module, but not importing it would give this error

When I try to enter "help(sys)" for example, I just get the error "'more' is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file."

based on your error i am guessing you are running windows. However "more" is a feature of linux's Bash. So my first question would be why is your windows python trying to use a bash command? Did you download the windows installer for python, appropriate one for the operating system and archetecture?
we will be moving to python-forum.io on October 1 2016
more details here
User avatar
metulburr
 
Posts: 2231
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 4:47 pm
Location: Elmira, NY

Re: Problem with help command?

Postby Somelauw » Sun Aug 25, 2013 4:23 pm

Windows used to have a 'more' command, so I'm not sure why you get that message.

What operating sytem are you using and which version of python did you download?
There might be a mismatch.

Also does
Code: Select all
more input.txt

work when entered in cmd?
Join the #python-forum IRC channel on irc.freenode.net!
Somelauw
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2013 8:30 pm

Re: Problem with help command?

Postby topcat5665 » Mon Aug 26, 2013 12:20 pm

Hey guys, I had imported the module and I am using Python 2.7.5. I'll further look into the OS issues, but I am pretty sure I downloaded the Windows version (I am using Windows 7)

Thanks for the replies, I'll get back to you soon.
topcat5665
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2013 2:15 pm

Re: Problem with help command?

Postby topcat5665 » Mon Aug 26, 2013 12:23 pm

Just an update, it has now started working for some reason...

Thanks for the replies though, it is good to know there is a forum like this if I need help. :D
topcat5665
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2013 2:15 pm

Re: Problem with help command?

Postby metulburr » Mon Aug 26, 2013 2:57 pm

Even though the problem resolved itself. I would still like to diagnose the problem. For future people.

The last thing i could think of is IDLE. I vaguely remember such odd things happening when i use to use IDLE. (thus the reason I have never used it again). I switched to using terminal/command prompt (even other IDE's) and never had such problems ever again.

Were you using IDLE's interpreter for these tests?
we will be moving to python-forum.io on October 1 2016
more details here
User avatar
metulburr
 
Posts: 2231
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 4:47 pm
Location: Elmira, NY


Return to General Coding Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests