os.system("echo sudo pi-ws") doesn't ask for password!

This is the place for queries that don't fit in any of the other categories.

os.system("echo sudo pi-ws") doesn't ask for password!

Postby thevdm » Thu Nov 21, 2013 12:16 pm

Hello all,

I am new to Python although having worked with PHP for quite a long time I'm finding it a nice language to work with, basically I am trying to create a script to run on a web server running Debian that can be used to create/edit/delete virtual servers, and modify port numbers etc... more specifically I am writing this script to maintain a web server running on a Raspberry Pi as the lack of power makes visual panels like webmin a little slow (maybe a little ambitious for a first project, but I did 'Hello World' first :roll:)

The code is coming together nicely but one thing that is important is that the script needs to be run as root or using SUDO so I have the following code at the beginning of my script just after the shebang.

This is the top section of the script /usr/local/bin/pi-ws
Code: Select all
import os, sys, colorama
from colorama import Fore

#Check if the script is being run as root or SU
if not 'SUDO_UID'  in os.environ.keys():
    os.system('clear')
    #Let the user know that this script needs to be run as root
    print (Fore.MAGENTA + "Due to the nature of this program it requires root priveliges.\nTry running 'sudo pi-ws_configure'\n")
    #Ask if the user would like to quit to the terminal or attempt to run the script as root
    option = raw_input (Fore.WHITE + "\t1: Run Pi-WS as root\n\t2: Quit to the terminal\n\n>> ")
    if option == "1":
        #Run 'sudo pi-ws'
        os.system("echo sudo pi-ws")
    else:
        #Exit to the terminal
        sys.exit(1)