python idle

This is the place for queries that don't fit in any of the other categories.

python idle

Postby avm31982 » Wed Dec 11, 2013 1:28 am

yeah I just installed python 3.3 from python.org, i'm following along with a book to learn how to code with python and it says of course

Code: Select all
print "Hello, world!"


just like that. So I typed it, just like that and this is what I get:

Code: Select all
>>>print "Hello, world!"
   File "<stdin>", line 1
      print "Hello, world!"
SyntaxError: invalid syntax


was wondering why I'd get that message.
^
Last edited by micseydel on Wed Dec 11, 2013 1:31 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Locked OP.
avm31982
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2013 1:24 am

Re: python idle

Postby micseydel » Wed Dec 11, 2013 1:35 am

Your book is for Python 2. In Python 3, print is no longer a statement and instead is a function. So it needs parenthesis.

You should either install Python 2 or buy a book for Python 3. Python 3 is newer, but Python 2 is more supported, and it's ok to stick with it for now. You can read here for more about the trade offs.
Due to the reasons discussed here we will be moving to python-forum.io on October 1, 2016.

This forum will be locked down and no one will be able to post/edit/create threads, etc. here from thereafter. Please create an account at the new site to continue discussion.
User avatar
micseydel
 
Posts: 2997
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2013 2:18 am
Location: Mountain View, CA


Return to General Coding Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests